Information on countries and restriction on freedom of movement requirements for passengers

Travelling to Estonia is possible for the following persons:

  • Estonian citizens, residents and their family members. Estonian citizens and residents are allowed entry regardless of whether or not they show symptoms of the disease.
  • Citizens and residents of the European Union, the Schengen area, the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, Andorra, Monaco, San Marino and Vatican, and individuals with a long-stay visa and their family members if they show no symptoms. Read the list here.
  • Residents of Australia, Japan, New Zealand, Rwanda, South Korea, Thailand, Singapur and Uruguay, if they show no symptoms.
  • Citizens of foreign states without symptoms arriving in Estonia from states not named above for work or studies. On arrival they are subjects to 10-day restriction on freedom of movement, which means that:
    • consulting with the person, the employer or educational institution must ensure the person has the possibility of staying at their place of residence or permanent place of stay for 10 calendar days after their arrival in Estonia;
    • the employer or educational institution ensures that the employee or student undergoes two SARS-CoV-2 tests. The first test must be administered on their arrival and the second on the 10th day after their arrival;
    • the employee and student is not allowed to start working and studying respectively for the first 10 days following their arrival in Estonia;
    • the employee and student can start work and studies respectively from the 11th day since their arrival on the condition that their second coronavirus SARS-CoV-2 test was negative.

Who is required to restrict their freedom of movement?

• All symptomatic Estonian citizens and residents arriving in Estonia.

• Passengers arriving from countries of the European Union, the European Economic Area and the Schengen area who began their trip from a country belonging to this region or transited a country of this region, based on the infection rate:
o the mandatory self-isolation does not apply to passengers arriving in Estonia from a country with an infection rate below 25 per 100 000 inhabitants.
o If the infection rate of the country is between 25 and 50, the need to self-isolate depends on whether the infection rate is below or above the rate of Estonia times 1.1. If the infection rate is below that of Estonia, the person is not required to self-isolate; if it is higher than the infection rate of Estonia, a 10 day mandatory self-isolation applies.

All persons arriving in Estonia who started their journey from or transited through countries for which there is no data or which are outside the European Union, the European Economic Area and the Schengen Area. An exception applies to residents of countries listed in Annex 1 of the recommendation of the Council of the European Union on the condition that the infection rate in the country is below 16.

Additional information: National crisis hotline: +372 600 1247