An emergency situation has been declared in Estonia due to the pandemic spread of the coronavirus in the world.

From 17 March there will be a temporary restriction on entry to Estonia for foreign nationals who do not hold an Estonian residence permit or right of residence, or have family members in Estonia. Foreigners are allowed to transit Estonia on the way to their home country if they do not show symptoms of COVID-19. At the border control travel documents and medical symptoms will be checked.There are no restrictions on exiting the country.

We care about your and everyone’s health. For this reason and in order to stop the spread of the coronavirus and flu, we kindly ask you to seriously consider whether coming to the representation is essential, and refrain from doing so if you are not feeling well, suspect that you or a family member has become infected, or you or a family member has been in an area of the coronavirus epidemic in the past 14 days. Thank you for your understanding!

In addition to previous measures, restrictions on movement are in force in Estonia from 14 March in line with the emergency situation.

On 17 March 2020, applications for Schengen visas and long-stay visas to Estonia can no longer be submitted at representations and visa centres of external service providers. This also applies to Schengen visa applications that are processed by Estonia on behalf of another member state.

Further information

State fees for applying for various documents in Estonia’s foreign missions changed

January 6, 2020.

  • The state fee for a long-stay visa increases from €80 to €100. Specifically, on 1 February 2020, the new Community Code on Visas takes effect, introducing a €80 state fee instead of the previous €60 state fee for a short-stay visa.
  • The state fee for changing the location for issuing a document and the state fee for issuing an identity document through a foreign mission of a European Union member state has previously stood at €50. Updated state fees are €80 and €100 respectively.
  • A state fee will be introduced for emergency travel documents and certificates of return. In case of loss or theft of a document, the state fee is €20, and in case of an expired passport / ID card, the fee stands at €100. The state fee for the emergency travel document of the European Union is the same, i.e. €20 and €100 respectively to ensure the equal treatment of Estonian and EU citizens.
  • State fees for applying for various documents in Estonia’s foreign missions will be unified, and it will subsequently be €30 more than the domestic rate. A state fee of €20 will also be introduced for issuing documents in Estonia’s foreign missions or by honorary consuls, which must always be paid on application.

More info.